Production workflows is a feature that you may want to use, particularly if your organisation is large, with several colleagues accessing information. This is a way to limit what statuses are available as the next point in the production process. Production workflows also allow the publisher to limit access by group for who is allowed to change the status of the project.
By selecting Production Workflow from the Production Admin menu, you will be taken to a new screen where you can see the list of your production statuses already created and where you can create new ones:
These workflows, which will help you to organise, delegate and monitor your production with more efficiency, will then pop up on the screen for you to select when setting up a new title in Pre-production:
To create a new Production Workflow, click on Create New and you will be taken to this screen:
Give a name to your production status in the Workflow Name field, for example New Title, Reprint etc. Select a Status from the drop-down menu, which was populated with statuses that you already set up in Prod. Status.
Select the tabs you wish to see back when you access this title in Pre-production, for example if you chose 3 tabs, only 3 will be visible, as shown below in the red box:
Back in the Production Workflow screen, you will then need to select Allowed Next Stati to choose the next status labels that will be available. Please note that you can add more than one here.
Here is an example of a created workflow under the label: New Title. In order to illustrate this in an easy to understand way, we've only added 1 status into this Workflow. Please note that you will probably add many more than this.
In the example above, you can see that if a title in Pre Production is labelled as being in Draft status (and it's had the New Title Workflow applied to it), there will be 5 available tabs against it. In this example, the tabs are:
For this example, there are 4 further available status options that a user can change this Draft status to:
Also in this example, it would appear that only members of the Sales, Editorial and Design groups will have access to making changes to the status of a title under the New Title workflow.
When you are finished adding all of the relevant items for your status, then click the Create button and it will appear both in the main menu of Workflows and also when you create a new title in Pre-Production, as reflected in the following screen shots: